History & Facts


Historical Landmarks

The growth of the School of Law is characterized by a number of milestones. The following are worth noting.

1968    Establishment of the Department of Law at Makerere University, which was an opportunity for grooming indigenous lawyers

1970   The Department of Law upgraded to a fully-fledged Faculty. This marked the consolidation of the institution

1971    Formation of Makerere Law Society, a student’s representative body.

1972    Publication of the Makerere Law Journal, a students’ journal, which is an outlet for student publications.

1974    The first time for the Faculty to register a First Class LL.B Degree, and this was a positive reflection on teaching quality.

1975    The Faculty of Law moved to its own premises, which enhanced its profile and presence.

1976    There was an administrative edict requiring full time teaching which resulted into serious brain drain of the Faculty.

1978    LL.M program introduced. This created more postgraduate study opportunities for the Faculty.

1981    Legal Practice was permitted for Law Lecturers. This resulted into more flexibility and led to reduced brain drain.

1990    Introduction of cost sharing. The book bank was establishment leading to increased access to reading materials.

1992    The evening programmes were introduced leading to an increase in student numbers and more financial resources.

1993    Formation of linkages with the University of Florida. This was an opportunity for student / staff exchange.

1994   The Human Rights and Peace Centre (HURIPEC) was established, which saw the introduction of human rights outreach programs in addition to teaching programmes. The East- African Journal of Peace and Human Rights (EAJPHR) was launched.  For the first time, the Faculty won the All Africa Human Rights Moot Court Competition. This led to an improvement on the public image of the Faculty, both internationally and at home.

1995    The Odoki Report on Legal Education was published. It resulted into new/ liberalized admission requirements and a broader curriculum.

           The four year Bachelor of Laws program was introduced

1997    The semester system was introduced.

1999    The first Faculty Strategic plan was published. This was an opportunity for better planning and strategic thinking. The LL.D Program was introduced. It offered faculty members an opportunity to study from home.  The Faculty got into collaboration with the Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria

2001    The Refugee Law Project (RLP) was establishment as an outreach programme of the Faculty.

2002    The Sexual Harassment Policy was adopted.  The Faculty once again became a trailblazer for Makerere University and other Institutions in Uganda, e.g.  The Law Development Centre

2004    The first female Dean, Dr. Sylvia Tamale was elected. She became a role model for young female students and a sign of increased gender sensitivity at the Faculty.

2005     The First LL. D degree was awarded to Professor Ben K. Twinomugisha.

2006     The Gender, Law & Sexuality Research Project was launched.

2011      The Faculty of Law transformed into the School of Law

2012      The Public interest Law clinic launched.

2013      School of Law wins the third regional Child Rights moots competition.